Kashmir Indepth
Breaking News

SAC approves locations for 40 new Degree Colleges


The State Administrative Council (SAC) which met here today under the chairmanship of Governor, Satya Pal Malik approved locations for the establishments of 40 new Government Degree Colleges to be set up during 2019-20 & 2020-21.

The government had constituted a High Level Committee to identify and examine the locations for these colleges approved by SAC on 07.12.2018.

The SAC had directed the Higher Education Department to finalize the phasing and location of all the 40 Colleges through the Committee constituted vide Government Order No. 1462-GAD of 2018 dated 25.09.2018, and, thereafter, with the prior concurrence of the Finance Department, bring the proposal in the next SAC meeting.

The High Level Committee after taking note of various parameters like enrolment, catchment, distance, increasing number of students, feasibility etc. recommended 40 locations spread across the State for establishment of the new Degree Colleges.

The Committee has recommended that 40 Degree Colleges should be made operational during 2020-21 by which time reasonable infrastructure and staff will be in place. However, at some places, classes can be started during 2019-20.

The SAC decided that 20 Colleges to be opened in 2019-20 be prioritized to meet the felt requirements in such areas where land is available.

The SAC further directed that the Committee constituted vide Government Order No. 1462-GAD of 2018 dated 25.09.2018 shall continue as a Standing Committee to examine future requirement of new Colleges.

With the establishment of 40 new colleges in the State, students will have easy access to higher education facilities at their door steps. This would add capacity of approximately 40,000 students in graduate education by the start of the academic year 2020.

The locations approved for these 40 colleges include Chadoora in Budgam, Qazigund in Kulgam, Rajpora in Pulwama, Zainapora & Wachi in Shopian, Villgam in Kupwara, Drass in Kargil, Vijaypur in Samba, Chenani in Udhampur, Mandi in Poonch, Paddar in Kishtwar, Thindim Kreeri in Baramulla, Frisal, Home Shalibugh in Kulgam, Langate in Kupwara, Marh in Jammu, Doongi in Rajouri, Ramkote in Kathua, Dudu Basantgarh in Udhampur, Siligam/Aishmuquam in Anantnag, Kotranka/Peeri in Rajouri, Ajas and Hajin in Bandipora, Hyderpora and Allochibagh in Srinagar, Khalsi in Leh, Kunjwani/Sainik Colony, Nagrota, Sidhra in Jammu, Khakryal/Katra, Neeli Nallah in Udhampur, Ukhral, Batote in Ramban, Awantipora in Pulwama, Verinag & Chitti Singhpora in Anantnag, Ramgarh, Purmandal in Samba, Pouni in Reasi, Marheen in Kathua, and Dangiwacha, Bomai in Baramulla district.

*Hardship Allowance revised for J&K Police*

The State Administrative Council (SAC) which met here today under the chairmanship of Governor, Satya Pal Malik accorded sanction to the grant of Hardship Allowance @ 8% of basic pay in the revised pay levels in favour of Gazetted and Non Gazetted Police Personnel w.e.f 01.01.2019.

The SAC also approved Hardship Allowance @ 10% of Basic Pay in the revised pay levels in respect of ‘Classified’ category of Police personnel including those deployed with Special Police components and Bomb Disposal squads. The Police personnel entitled to 10% Hardship Allowance will be notified by the Finance Department separately.
The new rate of Hardship Allowance will be in lieu of Hardship Allowance paid @ 10% of pre-revised Basic Pay as per Government Order No. Home 1162 (P) of 2010 dated 16.09.2010.

The Police personnel were entitled to Hardship allowance @ 10% of basic pay in terms of 6th Pay Commission. In view of the implementation of 7th Pay Commission, there was a need to revisit the rates of Hardship Allowances so as to bring in rationality in the rates viz-a-viz the hike on account of pay.

*Two J&K Police Women Battalions with 2014 posts approved by SAC*

The State Administrative Council (SAC) which met here today under the chairmanship of Governor, Satya Pal Malik accorded sanction to the raising of two women battalions of Jammu and Kashmir Police along with creation of 2014 posts of various ranks for these battalions.

The posts include 2 posts of Commandants, 6 posts of Deputy Commandant, 14 posts of Dy.SP, 14 posts of Inspector, 4 posts of Inspector (M)/ Tel, 46 posts of Sub-Inspector, 4 posts of Sub-Inspector (M)/Tel, 46 posts of Assistant Sub-Inspector, 10 posts of Assistant Sub-Inspector (M), 320 posts of Head Constable, 8 posts of Constable (Tel), 1402 posts of Constables/Tel, 138 posts of Followers, 2 posts of Medical Officer, 4 posts of Medical Assistant and 2 posts of Nursing Assistant.

The two battalions will be raised exclusively for women on the pattern of Border Battalions. The move is aimed at equipping the J&K Police to effectively deal with crimes against the women and give due representation to the Women in the Police force.

Due to inadequate representation/availability of women police personnel at various levels and to address the issues of gender based violence faced by women, State Government had taken up the issue of raising of Women Police battalions with the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

The recruitment to these two women battalions will be completed within one year from the date of sanction. The raising of a women battalion will involve financial implications of Rs 235.86 Crore of which Rs 105.11 Crore will be provided by Government of India and Rs 129.94 Crore will be State share.

Related posts

Drone Ban: Authorities Ban Use, Possession & Transport of Aerial Vehicles in Srinagar

Ankit Sharma

Sheikh Imran elected as Deputy Mayor

Zainab Hamdani

Waghoma Encounter: Two JeM militants, armyman killed and two armymen injured, operations on

Kashmir Indepth

One month additional salaries to employees

Kashmir Indepth

U.S. COVID-19 death toll exceeds 180,000

Kashmir Indepth

Gunfight Rages in Anantnag Villlage

Kashmir Indepth

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy