Kashmir Indepth

Director Sports declares Hockey Nehru Cup Tournament open


Directs field staff for holding regular coaching in schools

UDHAMPUR, NOVEMBER 26 ( KINS): Director Youth Services and Sports, Gazanffar Ali today declared open the Union Territory Level Inter-District Nehru Hockey Cup Tournament-2021 for under-15 and under-17 year boys here at a impressive and colorful inaugural function held in Subash Stadium.

The tournament is being organized under the patronage of Alok Kumar, Principal Secretary Youth Services and Sports and under the Chairmanship of Indu Kanwal Chib, Deputy Commissioner Udhampur and under the overall supervision of S. Swarn Singh, District Youth Services and Sports Officer Udhampur.  While Gazanffar Ali was the chief guest at the opening ceremony, Ashok Kumar, former Deputy Director Youth Services and Sports and Naveen Sharma, Chief Cricket Coach Sports Council J&K and Manager Subash Stadium Udhampur were the guests of honour.

Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest lavished praise on the organisers for holding the event in a befitting manner. He said sports serves for delight, for ornament and for agility, adding that the sportspersons are the messengers of peace and harmony.

Encouraging the players for improving the standard of Hockey in the Union Territory, Gazanffar said that Hockey is the game of Indian origin and the time is ripe to promote it in every nook and corner of the Union Territory.

He said sports help youth not to derail from the mainstream by not falling prey to drugs and other social evils.

He also welcomed the ceremonial Parade of Band of Modern High School Dhanori.

On the occasion, the Director Sports directed the field staff for holding regular Coaching Camps in the schools for all calendared activities.

Meanwhile, around 170 boys drawn from seven Districts of the Union Territory participated in the Tournament.

Later, S. Swarn Singh DYSSO Udhampur presented a memento to the chief guest and the guests of honour as a mark of respect.

Prominent among others present on the occasion were Poonam Sharma (ZPEO Jib), Anita Gowsami, Jaswinder Singh, Som Dev Khajuria, Bandana Sharma, Asha, Meenakshi, Sanjay Sharma,  Swarndeep Singh, Pushap Kumar,  Sanjeev Kumar Khajuria, Rajneesh Sharma and Anshu Khanna.

The officials who conducted the trials were Raj Kumar, Sunil Kumar, Sourab Pandit, Pooja Devi, Pooja Sharma, Vipin Photra, Nitin, Ankush, Vickey, Munazim and Mayank.( KINS)

Related posts

Australia World Cup squad: Steve Smith, David Warner make international comeback

Kashmir Indepth

India beats South Africa by an innings and 202 runs to sweep series

Kashmir Indepth

BCCI formally recognises Indian Cricketers Association for ex-players

Kashmir Indepth

J&K Cricket Association announces senior selectors for upcoming season

Ankit Sharma

I don’t copy anyone, but won’t mind copying Kohli: Pope

Kashmir Indepth

CWC19: Shahid Afridi congrats India after win against Pakistan

Kashmir Indepth

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy